Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salish Sea Sentinel | June 19, 2024

Scroll to top


Three nations elect leaders

Three nations elect leaders

Three Naut’sa mawt Tribal Council nations held council elections recently with leadership at two being re-elected.

At Malahat, on Jan. 13, Chief Councillor David Michael Harry as well as councillors Russell Harry and Dean Harry was voted in again. A fourth councillor, Tom Harry, was also elected because of the rise in population at the nation since the last election. “The last four years we have not had time to talk about what we have done, we have only had time to deliver progress,” Chief Harry said. “It has been amazing progress for us all moving together.”

On Jan. 14, Snaw-naw-as (Nanoose) voters returned Chief David Bob along with councillors Brent Edwards, Lawrence Mitchell, Gordon Edwards and Natasha Bob.

In December, voters at Snuneymuxw (Nanaimo) elected former Chief John Wesley in a close vote in which he defeated Douglas White III. Councillors elected included James Seward, Erralyn Thomas, Michael Wyse, Paul Wyse-Seward and William Yoachim.